A day of its own

This is an unusual Sunday.

Normally I’d be getting ready to leave for Mass right about now, but for some reason, we decided to go last night. Yesterday’s picture-perfect spring day primed me for a leisurely stint in the garden this morning, adding more perennials to the new flower beds I prepared. Maybe a cookout at noon.

None of that is happening. The rain began around breakfast time, and has fallen steadily ever since. I don’t begrudge the rain. It will give me a break from watering the perennials and potted flowers already planted. It also creates a time-set-apart sort of atmosphere that I can treasure because it’s Sunday.

I sit here in the living room, listening to the rain’s soft patter on our metal roof, providing a cozy ceiling of white noise that encourages quiet activities–maybe a good book, or a short doze, or a blog entry, something I haven’t done in several weeks.

In this weather, I’m in no mood to sit at my desk in the office. This is when I’m glad I have a laptop. I relax in my recliner, a soft throw over my legs, and I feel lazy. A good kind of lazy. The kind that feels like a reward after a few days of errands, gardening, housework, cooking. I’m still in my pajamas and I don’t even feel guilty about it.

I’ve finished my prayers, and the cup of coffee that goes with them. Dog:umbrellaTillie snoozes in the chair next to me, a soft snore escaping now and then. Behind her, a large opened umbrella sits in front of the fireplace, drying out from my one foray outside to feed the birds. George practices scales and finger techniques in the back room, the sounds of the guitar somewhat muffled by that steady rain.

I know it smells damp and fresh outside. Inside, it smells like lilacs, a bouquet of them sitting on the coffee table next to the crowned statue of Mary. May crownings, to honor God’s mother, are an old staple of Catholic tradition, and I observe it privately here at home. A dish of brightly decorated pysanky Mary:flowerseggs sits in front of her, reminding us that this is still the Easter season, until next Sunday, Pentecost. Then the eggs, decorated by my late father-in-law, will be carefully wrapped and put away.

I think ahead to lunch, and know it won’t be a cookout. But there’s a pot of chicken stew with dumplings sitting in the fridge from yesterday. A bit of a reheat is all that’s needed and that’s enough effort for this lazy day.

I suppose, since it’s Memorial Day weekend, there are a lot of disappointed people out there. But the ones who live in this house are enjoying it just as it is.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog.
This entry was posted in Catholic life, Lifestyle, Reflection, Uncategorized, weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A day of its own

  1. blb1 says:

    We could use a little of that rain too. It may be only 89° here but the humidity is horrible. 2 minutes in our garage and I’m perspiring like heck. 🙂 Pretty table setting.

    • Monica Sawyn says:

      “Only” 89°? I’d die. I don’t do well in that kind of heat, especially when it’s also humid. That’s why I’m hurrying to get all my perennials planted in my new gardens, so that I can sit back and enjoy, except for some weeding here and there.

Leave a Reply

