No ordinary French toast

Yesterday was Wednesday, and that means one thing: French toast for breakfast.

I’m not sure how that became a tradition. Probably because it’s halfway between Saturdays, when we have pancakes and bacon. The rest of the days are usually just toast and peanut butter. So, Wednesday is mid-week splurge, I guess.

Although it’s a tradition, I like to tamper with it just a bit, to keep things from getting boring. Yesterday I came up with something George and I both loved. Nothing fancy, you understand. Just a little different from regular French toast, and certainly different from any I’ve seen on a restaurant menu.

George and I aren’t big eaters, so here’s the recipe for three pieces (two for him, one for me). Adjust as needed for the size of your family.

3 pieces of English muffin bread
3 eggs
1/4 to 1/2 tsp. rum flavoring (I just poured, didn’t measure)
sprinkle of salt
1 banana, sliced
maple syrup

Melt coconut oil in a frying pan. Whisk the eggs with a bit of salt and the rum flavoring, then soak the bread slices, one at a time, on both sides, and fry them in the pan, flipping when the first side is golden brown.

Plate the bread, arrange banana slices on top, and drizzle banana-french-toastmaple syrup over the top. (A little toasted coconut would be great, too.) That’s it, and they’re wonderful!

The coconut oil is very good for you, so you don’t have to worry about frying, in this instance. (Or in any instance, if you always use coconut or grape seed oil, both actually helping to lower bad cholesterol and raise the good.) And of course I use real maple syrup, locally produced here in Door County, Wis. It doesn’t get any better than that. Tree juice, rather than that flavored corn syrup found in those name brand imitations on the store shelves.

The coconut oil, bananas and rum all have a tropical taste to them, something I’d never associated with French toast. I hope you try this, and I know you’ll enjoy!

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog. I actually have two blogs here: one about ordinary things at monicaspen.wordpress.com; and one about Catholic and Benedictine things at heartsponderings.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No ordinary French toast

  1. blb1 says:

    Well you know my diabetic mantra. Plus a husband you bring no coconut anything around unless it is in his favorite candy from PA, mallow cups I think is the name.

Leave a Reply

