An applesauce rant

I’m a waste-not, want-not sort of person. That’s why, as I was dishing up applesauce for our luncheon dessert, I could feel a rant coming on.

Short form: why do they make it so hard to get the applesauce out? Are they actually hoping we’ll give up and quit trying to clean out every drop so that we’ll have to buy a new jar that much sooner? Have the people who designed these containers ever actually tried removing the product?

If you buy little tiny jars, it might not be so bad. But I’ve been getting the Our Family brand of unsweetened applesauce in the 48-ounce size. As the applesauce gets low, the jar is too deep to use a serving spoon. But the mouth of the jar is very narrow, too narrow to allow a bigger spoon inside. That narrow mouth also gets in the way of trying to tip the utensil enough to scrape the applesauce from inside the rows of horizontal grooves that circumvent the container.

Useless grooves in the applesauce jars.

Useless grooves in the applesauce jars.

A few weeks ago, I was really fed up with those grooves. So, figuring the squeaky wheel sometimes effects changes, I decided to write to the company. I inspected the jar carefully, but all I could find was the name of the distributor. (Which tells me that it’s anybody’s guess who actually makes and bottles the applesauce.) However, I figured that was a place to start.

So, I waded through the web site to the “contact us” section and told them that the design of the jars was not user friendly, and that I’d be using another brand, even if it was more expensive, until this store-brand changed its packaging.

Fat lot of good that did. For one thing, they ignored me entirely, probably filing my email under “lunatic fringe.” So, true to my word, I checked out other options the next time I was at the grocery. That’s when I discovered the conspiracy.

All the brands are the same. All the jars had narrow mouths. All the jars had useless grooves. All the jars are probably made by the same company, and I wouldn’t be surprised if the applesauce was all the same, too. Only the labels have been changed to fool the innocent.

How hard can it be to: a. make smooth-sided jars, b. make wide-mouthed jars and c. tell me who is actually responsible for the product?

So, I’ve devised my own solution. One jar is now sitting

The last jars I'll buy--ever.

The last jars I’ll buy–ever.

upside down on the counter so the applesauce will drain to the mouth. The second jar will go through the same process. After that, I’ll make my own. It’s certainly easy enough, and by picking and choosing various kinds of apples and blending them together, I’ll get a melange far better than the stuff on the shelf.

Plus, I’ll be able to get ALL of it out of my containers.

Rant over.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog.
This entry was posted in Social commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An applesauce rant

  1. blb1 says:

    Now I will be going through the stores looking at applesauce containers. Though I don’t buy that large, it would grow fungus before I used it all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

