Sweet potatoes and peanut butter? Oh yeah!

Sometimes it gets really boring fixing meals three times a day, every day. I finally decided that part of the reason is that I tend to use the same recipes over and over–admittedly a fairly large repertoire–and combine foods the same way. By that I mean there are some foods I just wouldn’t think of putting together.

So last week, when it was time to visit the next country on Catholic Relief Service’s rice bowl tour, I read the ingredients with some hesitation. Each one taken separately was fine, but–sweet potatoes and peanut butter? I decided I’d better have a fall-back plan in case this culinary journey proved to be a flop.

The country was Niger, and the recipe is for west-African peanut stew. As before, I visited CRS’s website to watch a video about Niger, and learn about the CRS project called “”Bonbatu” (which means “I become stronger”) where farmers were hired to dig reservoirs which will provide water for crops and livestock during the dry season.

Then it was time to try the recipe. I admit it was fun to chop and measure and an unusual combination of ingredients that were simple, inexpensive, and yet nutritious–and meatless, of course, since this is a Lenten project, and since meat is more scarce is third-world countries.

I suspect that in Niger, they use whole peanuts, or perhaps they grind them, rather than use store-bought peanut butter. I do use the natural kind that contains no sugar. It’s just peanuts and a bit of salt, and it’s delicious. I noticed that the peanut butter acted as a thickener for the liquid in the stew.

While everything simmered, the aroma wafting through the house was enticing, a hint that maybe that fall-back plan wouldn’t be needed after all.

“Dinner’s ready,” I announced to George, once I had everything dished up. He came to the table with a half-grin, and took a sniff before sitting down.

“Let’s see what you’ve come up with this time,” he said.West-African peanut stew

We each spooned up a bit of the rice-and-stew mixture and took a tentative bite.

“It’s good!” George announced, sounding just a bit surprised. I had to agree, but neither of should have been surprised.  That has become a familiar verdict with each of these CRS meals suggested in the rice-bowl project. As usual, what we saved by not having meat will go in our little cardboard rice bowl and be sent to CRS at the end of Lent. CRS keeps three-quarters of it, and the rest goes to our local diocese for social justice projects.

Once again, George and I decided this recipe will be saved, and the meal will be fixed again. We loved this new mixture of flavors, I loved the process of cooking it, and if I can eat healthily and save money at the same time, I’m all for it.

Give this recipe a try. You’ll like it!

West-African peanut Stew, serves 4-6

1 medium onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 T fresh ginger, minced
4 T olive oil
6 C water
1/2 t crushed red pepper
12 t salt
1/2 t black pepper
3 small sweet potatoes, cubed
2 medium tomatoes, diced
3 C chopped kale or spinach (I used spinach)
1 C crunch peanut butter

In a large pot, sauté onion, garlic and ginger in oil until tender. Add 5 cups of water and season with crushed red pepper salt and black pepper. Stir in sweet potatoes and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 15 minutes. Stir in 1 cup water, tomatoes, greens and peanut butter. Cook over medium heat for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Serve over rice.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog.
This entry was posted in Catholic, CRS Rice Bowl, Food, Lenten food, meatless meal, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

