Absolutely nothing

My butt is going to take on the shape of this chair, I told George a few minutes ago.

He laughed, but couldn’t criticize, because his butt’s in danger of the same fate.

We promised ourselves after Mass today that we’d do exactly what we’re doing this afternoon: nothing at all. No laundry, no cooking, no shopping, no catching up on what we didn’t manage to finish yesterday. It’s Sunday, it’s our Sabbath, and we take that no-work-

Via Bing Images

Via Bing Images

on-the-Sabbath rule seriously.

Not just because it’s a rule, of course, but because it’s one of God’s gifts it makes sense not to refuse. It’s the day to pay Him a little extra attention and to re-create ourselves. So, it’s Mass in the morning, then out to lunch, a different place each Sunday, and a dog walk. In the summer, we’d probably take a drive, or ramble through the state park, or grab our cameras and go shooting. Today it’s 16°, gray and damp, and not very enticing.

Instead, we did inside stuff. Music is playing, George was napping a while ago. Before that he restrung a guitar, and I wrote letters to three of the diocese’s seminarians–a personal project that goes throughout the year. I read a couple of the newspapers I subscribe to, and prayed a Rosary. I’ve eyed my crocheting, sitting in a bag near my chair, but I think I’ll save that for later, while we’re watching a movie or an old television show. No TV now, though. It’s sort of an unwritten rule in our house that we don’t turn the boob tube on during the day, any day.

Sunday is a good time to reflect on things marvelous and mundane–on the week ahead

Via Bing Images

Via Bing Images

with its appointments and schedules; the upcoming meeting with a city alderman about a thorny issue and his disappointing vote; about the fluffy little birds in my feeder and how quickly they’re devouring seed on this frigid day; about the joy of sharing the silence with someone I love; about my sister’s health issues and the new challenges in her life; about the fact that it’s the International Day of Prayer and Awareness Against Human Trafficking. (!)

We’ll rouse ourselves eventually, and meander to the kitchen for a little snack, which would be called supper on any other day, but which “lunch out” necessarily reduces to something much less. Besides, it’s ice cream night, and we both want to save room.

We deprive ourselves of ice cream the rest of the week, for health reasons, mostly. But we’re big believers in moderation, and neither of us believes anything should be left totally out of our diets. I promise, that ice cream tastes even better for being savored only one night a week.

Maybe this all sounds terribly boring. To us, it’s relaxing, because even though we’re retired, we have busy schedules. I’m a freelance writer, George is a freelance musician, and we both volunteer here and there. This is the day to indulge ourselves with the lack of activity that might be considered slothful on any other day of the week.

Then, tomorrow, we’ll work on getting these butts back to their normal shape.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog.
This entry was posted in Catholic life, Human behavior, Lifestyle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Absolutely nothing

  1. Bunny says:

    Oh to be so happy

  2. Kay says:

    I have felt that way all week. Partly because of recouping, and partly because of my little Emmie, who hurt herself and needs to be quiet. One more week of watching her and then hopefully all will be well. I agree though, Sunday is holy and special, and if possible, should be a day of rest.

    • Monica Sawyn says:

      I think people forget that God didn’t give us these rules for HIS sake, but for our sake. We’d run ourselves into the ground if he hadn’t told us–and we hadn’t listened–that we’re to take one day off.

Leave a Reply

