Dawn flight

Sun…rise.
Wings…spread.
Lean out, drop down, soar overhead.bird

Eyes closed,
Face the light.
Swim in warm air rivers
Through the morning light.

Skim…float
on golden swells.
Feel silent sky
Taste remnant dew
where dream impels.

Wider, higher, circle, soar.
Pierce the silent, empty sky
far from the shore.

Wings slowly beat a soft tattoo,
Feathers etch lazy lines
where golden hue will fade,
give way to blue.

The light…divine.
The sky…all mine.
To dip
And soar
And swim
‘Til
Dawn
Is
Done.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog.
This entry was posted in Poem, Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dawn flight

  1. blb1 says:

    You are a poet? 🙂

  2. Monica Sawyn says:

    Some things are best said with few words.

Leave a Reply

