Can you read this?

img001img002img003img004img005img006

My grandmother's cookie recipes would not be nearly so precious if they'd been typed.

My grandmother’s cookie recipes would not be nearly so precious if they’d been typed.

My dad left a little of himself behind in this handwritten "formula" for raisin bread from the bakery he owned.

My dad left a little of himself behind in this handwritten “formula” for raisin bread from the bakery he owned.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog.
This entry was posted in Human behavior, Lifestyle, lost arts, Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Can you read this?

  1. blb1 says:

    That is fine Monica but penmanship changes when you develop essential tremors.

  2. Kay says:

    Yes, I can read this. I too think it would be a shame if penmĂ nship would be lost. It does show each persons character. Though for some it might become impossible, I do think it should still be taughht in schhool. Good article.r

  3. Nancy Fisher says:

    Oh, this is so poignant. I love seeing my mother and grandmother’s handwritten recipes; and re-reading letters & cards from family members. Thanks for this, especially as we know cursive writing has been eliminated in many elementary schools.

    • Monica Sawyn says:

      My mother, at age 91, still hand writes letters to me–4 and 5 pages at a time. I’ve saved some of them, not only for the content, but also because of how personal they seem with the handwriting. I think it’s a shame that schools don’t teach it–or some don’t, anyway. How do people sign their names for official documents?

Leave a Reply

