Chip ‘n’ Dales Tails

It has become almost impossible for me to spend a quiet half hour or so with a book and a cup of coffee on my deck.Coffee on the deck

As soon as I settle myself, the little heads begin to appear: some bold, some timid, some old hands at mooching, some new at the trade. I am, you see, the Peanut Lady.

I thought I had come prepared, just in case. I thought the few peanuts I had stuffed in my pocket would be enough. I didn’t expect the aunts, uncles and cousins to all show up, all so sweetly confident that I would have goodies for them. (Actually, if I didn’t always have goodies for them, there might not be quite so many of them. But that’s another issue.)

Twice I made trips back into the house for more peanuts, my book sitting forgotten, my coffee going  cold. And still they kept coming. And so, of course, I kept shooting. Two challenges in that: holding the camera steady and pointed in the right direction in one hand while holding peanuts in another; and making sure my aim is good enough so the chip gets a peanut, not a finger. But I did it, and here are my chips, in living color.

Staring at me from the railing.

Staring at me from the railing.

Sneaking out from behind the grill.

Sneaking out from behind the grill.

Approaching from the deck steps.

Approaching from the deck steps.

Spying on me from the petunia basket.

Spying on me from the petunia basket.

Watch that finger!

Watch that finger!

Taking it  nicely.

Taking it nicely.

Stuffing his cheeks.

Stuffing his cheeks.

Full load and ready to go.

Full load and ready to go.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog.
This entry was posted in Animal antics, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chip ‘n’ Dales Tails

  1. These photos made my day! Thanks for sharing.

  2. blb1 says:

    What a delightful way to start a Monday! Never seen a chippie here.

  3. Kay says:

    Oh, Monica, I would just love to be ‘bothered’ by these little critters. I guess I will have to get peanuts and put them on the deck. This is a delightful blog. Thanks

    • Monica Sawyn says:

      I’m happy you like it! We saw one little chipmunk one day, and started putting peanuts out. They’re so easy to tame that it didn’t take long. And of course, with such a plentiful food supply, we know have quite a few. Sometimes they come calling for handouts. They sit on the rail and make the loudest “chip” sound you can imagine!

Leave a Reply

