Temptation in a pan

It started with a drop in temps, and a photo.

After two days of highs in the 40s, gray skies and off-and-on rain, I could feel that old familiar urge coming on–the urge to kick that oven, lying dormant all summer, into high gear and make something really yummy.

This morning, I sliced up three huge red, vine-ripened tomatoes, made from-scratch bread crumbs, grated cheese, snipped herbs from the garden, chopped green onions, added other savory things and produced a yumelicious tomato pie for our noon meal. The house smelled like comfort food for hours.

Not any more, though. Because after that I saw a picture on Facebook. One of my friends had made THREE loaves each of zucchini and apple bread. There they were, lined up in that photo, brown and chunky and tempting.

I immediately thought of the bag of apples that had been sitting for too long in my fridge. I’d used some of them for applesauce a couple times, but that had been a while ago. It was use them or lose them. Maybe an apple pie? I make a mean pie crust, but neither George nor I need that around the house very often.

That bread, though, that I could do. It can be sliced and wrapped and kept in the freezer indefinitely. It makes a nice side to a cup of tea in the evening, or an extra treat if I have to pack George’s lunch when he’s off at a music gig.

I mentioned the idea of apple bread to George as we were having a quick, light supper. He was due to leave for the show he’s playing in for the next six weeks, and his eyes widened at the thought of coming home late at night and finding fresh apple bread. That means, of course, that I had to go through with it. I couldn’t get distracted and decide to make it another day, not when I had planted that epicurean seed.

So, as I type this, two loaves of apple bread are cooling on the counter.

Monica Sawyn photo

Monica Sawyn photo

The house now smells of apples and cinnamon, brown sugar and vanilla. I know I’m going to give in and have a piece of that bread long before George makes it home.

If all this is making you hungry, too, here’s the recipe. Feel free to tweak it any way you’d like.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup chopped walnuts, or a couple healthy handfuls
3 cups apples, peeled, cored and chopped
1/2 cup vegetable oil (I use olive oil)
3/4 cup white sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
3 eggs, beaten
2 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 300°. Prepare 2 loaf pans with cooking spray. (I don’t like what’s in those sprays, though, so I pour a little olive oil in the pan and use a brush to coat the surfaces.)

Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, walnuts and apples in a large bowl. Whisk oil, sugars, eggs, and cinnamon together in another bowl, then add to the flour mixture and stir just until moistened. Pour half into each of the 2 loaf pans.

Bake in oven 60-90 minutes, until toothpick or cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean. Let the finished loaves cool in the pans for about 10 minutes, then remove them to a wire rack.

This is also good if you add a little rum flavoring, or even maple. Experiment! That’s what makes each recipe your own.

Now, take a picture, post it on Facebook, and see how many other people we can send scurrying for their baking supplies.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog. I actually have two blogs here: one about ordinary things at monicaspen.wordpress.com; and one about Catholic and Benedictine things at heartsponderings.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Food, Humor, Lifestyle and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Temptation in a pan

  1. blb1 says:

    Sigh…. not a diabetics delight. 😉

    • Monica Sawyn says:

      That’s one bad thing about these tea breads: they’re always loaded with sugar. My recipe actually cuts back on the sugar from the original recipe, and on the oil, too. I know there are sugar substitutes, but when used in large quantities, I always expect them to be bitter–or very expensive. Do you have an alternative recipe for diabetics?

  2. Bunny Thomson says:

    But Monica it’s 90 degrees down here. Love the article and will make some next month at the cabin.

    • Monica Sawyn says:

      Oh yeah, I always forget about you southern folk. LOL! 90 where you are, and 45 when I got up this morning. So here I sit in my flannel PJs, and you’re fanning yourself, I suppose. You’ll be at the cabin next month? Have fun!

Leave a Reply

