Too simple for words–but you’re going to get them anyway

“Hot town, summer in the city, back of my neck gettin’ dirty and gritty…” –The Lovin’ Spoonful

It’s nice and cool in the house, though, with the blinds mostly closed and the AC units on. Is it any wonder that when the noon meals rolls around, I do NOT want to heat up the house with cooking?

Today’s solution: pork chops that George grilled out on our sunny deck (well, maybe HE did get a little hot out there, but he promised he didn’t mind since the house was cool to come back into), garlic potatoes, and a veggie. Gotta have veggies, because Mom always said so. But I didn’t have the kind that can be grilled, I didn’t want to crank up the stove, nothing was suitable for raw…

…except for the tomatoes! This is where it gets too simple for words. I know everyone out there has probably done this, in one form or another, but on the off-chance that there’s a new cook out there, or that there’s some facet of this you haven’t thought of…

I sliced the tomatoes about three-eights of an inch thick (but please don’t get out the tape measure), and put them in a single layer on a plate, sprinkled them with garlic salt, pepper and crumbled, dried basil leaves from our garden. tomatoesOver that I sprinkled some chopped green onion stems. (I had already used the white onion part for something else, and couldn’t bear to toss those perfectly tasty stems.) Then I drizzled a little grape-seed oil over the top (I prefer that to olive oil) and shook on a bit of red-wine vinegar.

The result was so pretty I just had to take a picture. And once I did that, I couldn’t resist writing about it, to justify the picture.

To top it all off, they tasted great! (Maybe more onion greens next time, though.) And I get to sit here and write this in a still-cool house.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog. I actually have two blogs here: one about ordinary things at monicaspen.wordpress.com; and one about Catholic and Benedictine things at heartsponderings.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Food, Humor, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Too simple for words–but you’re going to get them anyway

  1. blb1 says:

    Home grown tomatoes I suppose. 😉

  2. sarahlmandl says:

    I enjoy sliced tomatoes and avocado sprinkled with a pinch of salt and pepper for breakfast during the summer. I don’t usually eat tomatoes during the winter. Hmmmm…

    • Monica Sawyn says:

      I don’t eat them in the winter, either. I have to get them from the grocery store, which got them from who-knows-where, and they’re hard and tasteless. Never thought of adding them to avocados. My husband would love that!

Leave a Reply

