Have cold, will work

If you could see me right now, you’d probably stop reading this.

My eyes are swollen, my nose is both stuffed and running, my upper lip is raw from blowing, and I’m probably contagious through these very words. blow nose I haven’t had a cold for two years, so this one is making up for lost time by being the most miserable one I’ve ever had.

This isn’t about the cold, however. It’s about the perversity of human nature. My human nature. anyway. As soon as I’m sick and haven’t the energy to sit up let alone do anything constructive, something constructive is all I can think about doing.

Ironing, for instance. I don’t like ironing. I avoid ironing. But today there’s a stack of shirts fresh from the laundry that I’m just itching to get started on. In fact, I scratched that itch as long as I could remain upright–which wasn’t long, but I got six shirts done and am feeling mighty pleased with myself.

I’m also dying to hem the new jeans I just bought. Normally, a job like that sits around for a while because I’d much rather sew something new than make alterations. But now, when the job will sap what little energy I have at the moment, it’s all I can think about. Find the thread, thread the machine, cut off the excess fabric, press up the hem, listen to the delicious whirr of the Viking–and voila! Something new to wear. Now that I can’t do it, it’s all I want to do.

And that’s not all. I just finished a writing assignment that’s due tomorrow. Being above all else a procrastinator, I usually never finish assignments until the very last minute. Always on time, mind you, but with never a minute to spare. Yet here I am, a whole day early, with the story done and emailed to my editor.

sneezeWant more proof of my perverse nature? While blowing my nose, wiping my eyes and wheezing for breath, I’m sitting here writing this blog. I can’t wait to get well so I can get some rest.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog. I actually have two blogs here: one about ordinary things at monicaspen.wordpress.com; and one about Catholic and Benedictine things at heartsponderings.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Human behavior, Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Have cold, will work

  1. blb1 says:

    I know you are miserable and I wish you well but I could not help but grin through this. 🙂
    Down here it is persistent allergies.

  2. Kathryn Johnson says:

    Know exactly what your saying, seldom sick myself, so get two many things done at my leisure. Do work better under pressure. Got much more done when I was working, now there is always tomorrow. Husband Frank is having open heart surgery on Thurs, valve replacement & double by-pass. He had triple by – pass 19 yrs ago, so knows what to expect(not good). Please keep all of us in your prayers, He has V. A. insurance, so has to go to Ann Arbor, All of the kids will be there with me & girls are staying till Sun. Enjoy reading your blogs, sorry I don’t respond more often.
    Hugs
    Sib

Leave a Reply

