What a load of garbage

Finally, today was garbage day.

I made sure my camera was charged and ready to go. When the trucks arrived, I was front and center outside to shoot the moment.

This wasn’t just any garbage day. It was THE garbage day, the day we got to use our brand new city-issued garbage cans.

This is a Big Deal in Sturgeon Bay. Once, the streets were lined with cans of all sizes, colors and styles. Now, we march in uniformity. Tall, square black plastic garbage containers on wheels, black lids for garbage, blue for recyclables–single-stream recycling.

This might be old stuff to you. Actually, since I once lived in Chicago where they’ve used this system for years, it’s old hat to me, too. But this is Sturgeon Bay, and I live in a small house where space is at a premium. Having to separate recyclables into paper one week and glass and metal the next meant I had to use up valuable space for two recycle bins. Now, I can dump it all, no matter what kind, into the one big container outside.

This was cause for celebration.  I’d been doing a countdown since September, when they first delivered the bins but told us not to use them until this week.

Today, after breakfast, George wheeled the cans out to the street. I took pictures of the process. He rolled his eyes. I laughed.

“Do you think our neighbors are excited about this, too?” I asked.

“I don’t think they care at all,” he said.

“But YOU think it’s exciting, don’t you?” I pressed.

“I do think it’s fun,” he admitted.

You see why we’re so perfect together?

Feeling only slightly foolish, I documented the dumping of both those bins, my camera set on rapid fire to catch as many moments as possible. As the truck drove past, I gave the driver a big grin, and he grinned right back. He was having as much fun as I was.

It was a very good garbage day, and definitely worth the wait.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog. I actually have two blogs here: one about ordinary things at monicaspen.wordpress.com; and one about Catholic and Benedictine things at heartsponderings.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Humor, Lifestyle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a load of garbage

  1. Hi Monica, thanks for the reflection on garbage. It really is a big deal for some of – those of us who are the opposite of hoarders. The garbage can is our friend, and I make ritual visits as part of the never ending fight against clutter. Hope all is well with you. Eric

Leave a Reply

