It’s coming…!

Fall is in the air!

I wrote that to a friend, and he had a two-word reply.

“My arse,” he said. He seemed to think that temps in the low 80s belied the idea of autumn being just around the corner. I doubt if I could have persuaded him otherwise by telling him that the leaves SOUND different these days when the breeze blows through them, the night temps are getting lower no matter what it’s been during the day, and there’s a new scent in the air.

It’s more than that, though. The other day I counted 20 robins flocked in an empty lot near our house. I don’t think anyone was having a closeout on worms. Robins always flock when they start thinking about heading south. We pack bags before a trip, they congregate.

The geese are on the move, too. Back and forth they fly, from the bay to parts elsewhere, morning and evening, sketching Vs in the sky, singing their wild, barking-dog chorus that always calls to something within me.

I used to wonder at their apparent indecisiveness. Leave or stay, I thought, but why all this flying back and forth? Then a naturalist explained to me that this is the time that geese–especially this year’s new brood–strengthen their wings for the long flights ahead of them. I suppose it’s also when they learn the rules of formation–who starts out, who takes over, when to trade spots, when to stay in the rear. In a way, they’re packing their bags, too.

Something within me is preparing for fall, too. I’m not congregating, or doing calisthenics, but I am in the mood to crochet. During the summer, I set that hobby aside because a lapful of warm yarn isn’t appealing when the temps soar. Now, however, even though the temps are still spiking upward, I find myself looking through crochet patterns and eyeing the prayer shawl I started last spring.

“I’m tired of summer now,” my hair dresser told me last week. “I’m ready for football, and hunting stories.”

Ah yes. Packer-mania, even though I’m not a sports fan. Hunting photos from hunting friends. (The man of the two-word reply has already posted one from last year on Facebook.)

Via Bing Images

Apples on the counter, waiting to be sauced; produce stands groaning under the weight of harvested crops and regularly depleting my supply of cash; and soon, the appearance at my feeder of birds that only show up during migration.

Oh yes. The air-conditioner may be running and I may still be wearing sandals, but fall is definitely in the air.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog.
This entry was posted in Animal antics, Humor, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s coming…!

  1. sarahlmandl says:

    I love autumn for all the reasons you so beautifully mention. I think the leaves sound differently when the late summer breezes blow through them, too. Thanks for a wonderful post.

Leave a Reply

