Ate the hors d’oeuvre, waiting for the main course

It looks like the feast part of my life has begun–or at least, the menu has been passed out.

Because of the nature of Door County, and because of the lifestyle George and I have chosen, we live a feast-or-famine kind of life. During the summer, things can get pretty busy–although that’s a relative term. Compared to some workaholics I know, our busy summer life still looks leisurely.

In the winter time, when the tourists go home and many businesses roll up their sidewalks, things slow waaaaay down, and we have fun rising slowly each day and living leisurely. Long walks with Lady, fires in the fireplace, music, library books, Bananagrams, and photo treks.

In fact, famine is probably a misnomer. It’s true we don’t bring in a lot of funds, but we dine sumptuously on rest, leisure, reflection and, especially, time–that delicacy missing from the menus of so many people’s lives.

We’re still in the slow season, but George is taking more calls these days, and his gig calendar is quickly filling up for the coming months. Now, it’s my turn. Yesterday, I had a brain-storming meeting with people from Door Shakespeare–the theater company for which I wrote weekly newspaper columns last year–and with the publisher who will handle ads and print work.

It was an invigorating session, where the energy of each of us spiraled upward and outward, and ideas flowed like rising sap in the spring. Visions materialized, plans for implementation were sketched out, and each of us left energized.

That meeting was the hors d’oeuvre, the appetizer that has whet my appetite for the upcoming season. And I got a peek at the menu that will follow:

This year, my duties have expanded: double the number of columns from last year, press releases, and all the material for an 8-page playbill that will resemble a tabloid-sized newspaper. Spring will be a busy researching and writing time for me, and the columns will carry me through into the fall. In the process, I’ll become closer friends with new faces in the theater group, Shakespeare, the language of his day, the words he coined and, especially, “As You Like It” and other works.

I’ve been enjoying the famine part of my year. It wasn’t until this meeting that I realized I might be getting a bit hungry; that it might be time to shake up my brain, set some goals, and get the creative juices going again. George can read my stuff; I’ll attend his concerts; and we’ll talk about it all when we come together at home.

It will be a good time. It will be a busy time–but not TOO busy. Experience has finally made me wise enough to know that overeating of any kind only brings indigestion. The feast and famine times of our year balance each other out, and common sense toward what and how much we fill our schedule with balances our days.

I already know that as sumptuous as the coming feast looks, when late autumn arrives and things slow down again, we’ll both be sated and more than ready for the next cycle to begin.

About Monica Sawyn

I'm a retired newspaper reporter/columnist, and although I still freelance, I miss the weekly column I used to write. I still "see columns" in everyday life and need a place to put them after they're written--thus, this blog. I'm Catholic, have been a Benedictine oblate since 1977, and live with my husband and our beagle in Sturgeon Bay, Wis. When I'm not writing, I'm probably reading, sewing, taking photos or walking the dog. I actually have two blogs here: one about ordinary things at monicaspen.wordpress.com; and one about Catholic and Benedictine things at heartsponderings.wordpress.com.
This entry was posted in Lifestyle, Social commentary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

